English Camp is OFFICIALLY OVER!!!!

When I started working as an English teacher I struggled a lot, I was going to quit on more than one occasion. One of the things that I looked forward to was the “English Camps” scheduled for Summer and Winter vacations. They are voluntary so only the good kids would sign up right? Right?!? BUZZZZZZZ Wrong!

For some damn reason kids that could care less about English or learning in general signed up for English camp. So I had 2 weeks of teaching camp (2 – 90 minute classes each day) one camp in summer and one camp in winter. So each day I would basically throw as much dung at the wall as I could and hope something would stick. Part of what makes it even harder is although it is illegal for me to teach class without a co-teacher (don’t worry… there was still classes where the co-teacher didn’t show) it is completely fine for me to teach classes that are twice as long each without anyone there to explain what the hell the foreign monkey is trying to say. My miming skills have increased 10x since coming here. The daily struggle against cell phones, talking, not listening and general malaise toward my camp just kept grinding on.

There were some bright spots, there was a wonderful team of 1st grade girls that listened and worked and were a pleasure to teach. There were two girls that were teamed up with 4 bad kids that were really sweet so I looked forward to teaching them each day. The second grade class has already turned to the dark side so they have no concern for instructions or anything other than being cool and their cell phones. Look, if you are a kid that can’t get into zombie survival game or creating your own super hero you basically have nothing left. You have already lost one of the essential things that matters in life… fun.

Long story short, winter camp wasn’t horrible and wasn’t great. Had some fun and did my best. I guess the main point I am trying to get across is as of this moment barring the unforeseen I will never ever ever teach an English Camp again and I am a better happier person for it. Now who wants to do a Zombie Survival worksheet with me!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 11:25:40

    Yea! Congrats on finishing. I remember when I worked a camp I kept thinking: this would be funny if it weren’t happening to me. And looking around because I thought, there just HAD to be a hidden camera because this cannot really be happening.

Leave a Reply

