The waiting… is the hardest part

Documents are in, all the “T’s” are crossed and “I’s” are dotted… now we wait. As the song goes, the waiting is the hardest part. The buzz from the Facebook group is that the NOA’s will start rolling in next week. I am not complaining at all, the massive undertaking that EPIK goes through each hiring session is nothing more than incredible. To be honest I usually do not think about ESL teaching in S. Korea much yet. I am kinda gun shy about letting myself dream or prepare because of the ECC debacle a while back. That stung a lot more than I let on to most. I am not one to dwell on negative things. When bad things happen it is for a reason so i kinda put myself into the other people’s shoes and think of their needs and why I didn’t fit.  I notice that when i start to think about S. Korea or where I might end up I pull back and stop, like until i am getting on the big ol’ jet airliner I won’t let myself believe I am going. My recruiter seems very confident that it is a done deal, i hope she is right.

Yesterday i watched a series of videos about EPIK orientation and first days in S. Korea stuff. They were funny and interesting. That is when I found myself thinking about it and dreaming about it a little more. I have a great life here, I have a great family and friends that support me. I really hope this helps me grow and learn more about myself and the world around me. I am sure it will but right now I wait and wait and then wait a little more. Tom Petty was right all along, it is the hardest part.

Comments are closed.

